“Do you have a body of work?”

I make art because the process of making makes me happy.

I was recently asked the question: “Do you have a body of work?” And I found myself saying no, not really. That got me thinking about why I don’t and should I really do anything about it. So I thought I would talk about what I found when I researched this question. I will talk about art in general, as I work in both textiles and paint.

A body of work is a unified, cohesive, coherent collection of an artists work.  Usually it is about 15 – 30. It can demonstrate a mastery and expertise in a particular style or subject or media. A body of work draws attention to your art instead of showing how versatile you might be. If I’m going to exhibit my work I will need much more.

So I asked myself a few questions.

  • What is the one thing you love to make?
  • What subject matter interests you?
  • What style of art interests you?
  • Does it matter to me as an artist?

What I found out was that I love making representational quilts and I love painting people and landscapes. I am very interested in the beauty left behind after something (usually a manufactured thing) is abandoned and left to decay. I’m also interested in making my painting more loose and intuitive and exploring painting the landscape.

So the thing then is I might need to work in a series. A series usually has a very obvious something that ties all the works together. You create a collection of art that has a common theme. That might be colour, subject, message – environment- politics, whatever you decide it will be. Then you set some basic rules for yourself and you get started. The only way to develop a unique voice is to make lots of art.

Making rules for yourself as you tackle a series of works doesn’t mean that your “creative flow” is imprisoned. Maybe we need a better word than rules, but I can’t think of one. They will keep you on track and focussed. You’re not tempted then, to pursue every interesting new thing outside your focus area. (rather like Dory – “ooh shiny”. That sound so like me!) Rules are simple things like – the format of the works, the size, the materials you use or the subject matter. It might even be that you will make something every day.  From what I’ve found in my research is that having no rules leads to a fragmented, disjointed body of work.

Many famous artists worked in series. Monet painted water-lilies, haystacks and the Rouen Cathedral. Picasso had his blue period. Degas drew ballet dances and jockeys. Rembrandt painted self portraits consistently over time. Ruth de Vos‘ textiles are all about children and eucalypts. Pat Forster’s textiles are all about fractals. I am finding it helpful to study other artists work and see what rules they may have applied.

The idea of working in a series is not boring sameness and repetition. In fact its the opposite. The process, I believe, is about exploring, investigating, examining ideas, themes, techniques, issues. It’s not the same exact thing done over and over again, but rather stated and restated in different but connected ways.

I really believe that there is no right way to make art. There is a wrong way and that is never trying, never doing. Sometimes I find that I have put barriers up that are nor there and I need to just get to work and make something. And now I will make a series!

 

9 thoughts on ““Do you have a body of work?””

  1. Interesting post! Resonates with me. The Pathfinders project where seven of us are making 4 Drunkards Path Quilts each has resulted in more than four quilts in a series for many of us–a simple block with such potential! Multiple fractals have been generated, not all appealing, but enough good ones with which to have fun! Actually, having fun with quiltmaking has high priority for me. Better still are outcomes that are deeper–that is, less self serving than having fun. Like the convict collaborative quilt project that you contributed to. That really raised my awareness that the women were real people with real attributes, not just a bawdy lot. I know that my Aboriginal culture quilts on which I purposefully put explanatory text, and the booklets I write to go with WA Inspired quilts, raise awareness of the richness of Aboriginal culture for some people. I get satisfaction from that.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad you liked it Pat. I have started a series and have some ideas for some others. Funny you should say that working in a series has generated some quilts that are not appealing,I’ve had the same happen with my painting and my quilting and I’ve scrapped them and reused the canvas. Can’t always reuse the fabric 😂. Nothing wrong with self serving either and I don’t believe that all art needs to have a message, it just needs to be meaningful for the person making it. I’m not really attracted to a body of work made for profit anymore, but I do want to be ready should someone ask that question again.

      Like

  2. I really relate to your comments about “exploring” and about “trying”. I am trying to do that too, making by actually “doing”, preferably on a regular basis!

    Like

  3. Thanks. This really cool 😎. I went to the Workers Museum in Copenhagen today (open on Mondays!). They had a really good exhibition about trades and making things with your hands. They said that you have to know you materials and to do that you must touch them. I like the way you write, working out your ideas 💡 as you go.

    Like

  4. Are you in my head? I’ve just decided to work with limited pallets for the next six months and see how I like it. I would love to have a body of work but have considered that I’ve been on.. am still on.. a journey of investigation. Lots of research required prior to making decisions.. you are far ahead of me in that area! I’ve decided to enjoy some short trips before the real journey can start! Well done Meg! You have such talent.. gotta go., its Helen Godden research on painting week! Watercolours coming up!

    Like

    1. Thanks Lesley. Do you know you are already working in a series and compiling a body of work? Well done you I say. You will have a series of limited pallet work!

      Like

  5. Well put Megs! I have the same thought over and over as I struggle with not following every random idea as it flits through my head. I try to thing about working in series as not confining myself to a box but deeply exploring a particular concept or technique to its fullest. Definitely still a work in progress. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. 😄

    Like

Leave a comment